Acts 6:2-4
2 So the Twelve gathered all the disciples together and said, It would not be right for us to neglect the ministry of the word of God in order to wait on tables. 3 Brothers, choose seven men from among you who are known to be full of the Spirit and wisdom. We will turn this responsibility over to them 4 and will give our attention to prayer and the ministry of the word.

Exodus 18:18-22
18 You and these people who come to you will only wear yourselves out. The work is too heavy for you; you cannot handle it alone. 19 Listen now to me and I will give you some advice, and may God be with you. You must be the peoples representative before God and bring their disputes to him. 20 Teach them the decrees and laws, and show them the way to live and the duties they are to perform. 21 But select capable men from all the people–men who fear God, trustworthy men who hate dishonest gain –and appoint them as officials over thousands, hundreds, fifties and tens. 22 Have them serve as judges for the people at all times, but have them bring every difficult case to you; the simple cases they can decide themselves. That will make your load lighter, because they will share it with you.

The Apostles learned early on that they couldn’t do all the work of the Church and still Minister, Preach, Teach, guide the members. So they choose 7 men to assist them. Moses father-in-law told him that he couldn’t possible lead, teach and judge the children of Israel by himself. So he choose men who could assist him.

In The Army Officers tend to think that they must do all the work for fear it won’t be done right. the results are evident in many Corps with no local leadership. It is said Officers are moved to often to implement a lasting leadership programs but, truth be told knowing that time may be short squelches vision and creativity. It is often said, “I don’t have time”‘. Contrary to short appointments and “I don’t have time” thought, I have always taken appointments believing that this is my last appointment. I begin looking for potential leaders, appoint them, teach them, encourage them. They often fail but, I help them pickup the pieces and let them learn how to do better. God is always faithful and I do my best to be faithful to my calling and my present appointment.

A good example is my recent Post Service at Fremont and North Plate, Nebraska. I new I only had three weeks in Fremont but, I treated it like a permanent appointment. I sent out two informational letters to the Corps Families to promote attendance. I delegated work to employees that was done by Officers. I reviewed the Budget and looked for ways to save money. I completed projects that the Officer left undone. The results the attendances increased, People who had left came back. I did my best and God honored my work.

North Plate was 6 weeks. I maintained all the scheduled activities, implemented a weekly staff meeting. Completed undone projects. Met with Advisory Board members, Corps Counsel (in the summer). Got and gave directions and move forward. I bonded with the people immediately. Encouraged local leaders and filled the void left by previous Officers and an intern with new leadership. The attendance and participation in the worship service grew. On our last Sunday God moved into the meeting and 5 young men came forward to accept Christ. The ball was rolling when we left and feel confident that I did everything wanted me to do. I could have stay at both appointments longer. I didn’t mark time, I didn’t say what can I do in such a short time. I gave my all to God and He blessed. I stayed 12 years in Lincoln and never once thought about moving. Don’t think about moving. Think about what God wants you to do today. “Yesterdays gone and tomorrow may never come, but we have this moment today.”

Find leaders and train leaders. Accept your current appointment as you last. Plan into the future. “faithful is He that calls who will also do it” (Bible) “Not by might, nor power but by My Spirit saith the Lord of host.”

Major Bob Boone

Sent from my iPad
Proverbs 13:13
13 Ignore the Word and suffer; honor God’s commands and grow rich.

